The New Cardio Workout

November 10, 2009 at 11:52 am (Uncategorized)

You see, the first stanza was a stat on Facebook months and months ago and it lay dormant at the back of my mind, ’cause, y’know, that happens a lot. I finished it this morning. Still lacks bite. I want it to rawr at you. Thoughts?

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Cardio Workout

My heart is a gymnast,
twisting herself into
impossible shapes,
taking leaps in perfect form
for your entertainment tonight.

My heart is a weightlifter,
lifting the beastly burden
of our hundred-pound love above
his head with pride and pain
for your entertainment tonight.

My heart is a boxer,
taking the blows,
all bloody and bruised,
jabbing back furiously,
for your entertainment tonight.

Our love has always been
a bloody sport on my part,
ragged glory snatched
from the jaws of
the greatest pain,
but you tell me, that at
the heart of the matter,

it’s only just a game.

Leave a Reply

